Salem Community High School Academic Foundation REGULAR MEETING January 11, 2024

The Salem Community High School Academic Foundation Board of Directors meeting was called to order by Debbie Woodruff in the high school boardroom.

Directors present: Lynette Dye, Jane Gaston, Debby Hays, Keri Garrett, Misty Johannes, Jeannie Malone, Rhonda Mulvany, Trudie Smith, and Debbie Woodruff.

Also present: Brad Detering, SCHS Superintendent

<u>Minutes</u>

The minutes from the regular meeting on December 14, 2023 were reviewed. A motion by Debby Hays, seconded by Trudie Smith, to approve the minutes.

Vote: 7 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

In the absence of John Gaston, Brad Detering reviewed the treasurer's report which showed a December 31, 2023 balance of \$297,419.79

John Gaston submitted and Brad Detering reviewed the profit loss statement that showed a profit of \$14,489.85 for the month which ended December 31, 2023. A total profit for the year to date is \$16,414.58.

A motion was made by Jane Gaston, seconded by Jeannie Malone, to receive the treasurer's report. Vote: 7 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Committee Reports

Membership-New directors Keri Garrett and Lynette Dye were in attendance. A motion was made to approve Keri Garrett and Lynette Dye as directors by Rhonda Mulvany, seconded by Jane Gaston. Vote: 7 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

James Toth submitted a draft copy of The Broadcaster newsletter for review.

Publicity-No report

Scholarship-The Foundation has received a \$15,000 donation from the Salem Elks for a scholarship in the name of Wes Villalobos.

A motion was made to create the scholarship in the name of Wes Villalobos. Jenny Knapp will work out the details with the Elks/family.

Vote: 9 ayes, 0 nay, motion carried.

Hall of Fame-No report

Fundraising-No report

Other Business

Brad Detering suggested the date of April 24, 2023 as a potential date for the recognition ceremony of the "the best of the best" for the Class of 2024. Debbie Woodruff outlined the specific details of the recognition ceremony. Discussion was held.

<u>Adjourn</u>

At 12:40 P.M., Rhonda Mulvany made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Jeannie Malone. Vote: 9 ayes, 0 nay, meeting adjourned.